Contact Us:

Rorya District Council-Mara, Tanzania

Rorya District Council is a district in Mara Region, United Republic of Tanzania. The district capital is the village of Ingri Juu, while the largest town is Shirati. The district was created in 2007 from a part of Tarime District. It is bordered by Tarime District to the east, Butiama District to the south, Lake Victoria to the west, and the Republic of Kenya to the north. The majority of inhabitants are from the Luo tribe. Other ethnic group is Kurya. Kine, Simbiti,Sweta and Hacha are sub-groups within Kurya ethnic group
Rorya District officially started on 01/07/2007 after being separated from Tarime District. Prior to this the District was the constituency of Rorya. The district is located in northern Tanzania between latitude 1o .00 ″ – 1 o 4.5 ″ South of the equatorial line and Longitude 33o. 30 ″ – 35o.00 ″ East of the Meridian line. District bordering Kenya To the north, Tarime District to the east. Butiama and Musoma districts to the south and Uganda to the west.
Rorya District has a total of 4 Divisions, 26 Wards, 87 Villages and 506 Suburbs and 60,510 households with 24 Wards in 87 District and Village Councils and Shirati Small Town Authority in 2 Wards and 9 Suburbs.
According to the 2012 population and housing census, the District Council had a population of 265,241 of whom 126,247 (47%) and 138,994 (53%) were women; and with an average population growth rate of 2.8 percent, Rorya District is estimated to have a population of 302,552 in 2017. Of these 144,006 men and women in 158,546 Given this population, the estimated population density for one square kilometer being 125.
Area Size
The district has an area of ​​9,345.496 square kilometers, while the water area (Lake Victoria) is 7,252 square kilometers equivalent to 77.6% of the total area of ​​the District. The land area is 2,093.496 square kilometers equivalent to 22.4% of the District area.
People of Rorya
The inhabitants of Rorya District are a mixture of the Luo and the Kurya descent (divided into six sub-tribes).
Economic Activities
The economy of Rorya District is largely dependent on agricultural, livestock and fisheries activities. In addition, the main crops grown in the district are maize, cassava, bananas, sorghum, sorghum, sweet potatoes, beans and commercial crops are coffee, cotton, sesame and sunflower. The main economic activities of the residents of Rorya District are;
The Agriculture and Livestock Sector employs approximately 91% of the total population.
The Fisheries Sector employs 3.44 percent of the total population.
Small businesses employ 5.42 percent of the population.
Other activities are approximately 1.14 percent of the population.
Rorya District Council is located at an altitude of 800 to 1,200 meters above sea level. The Council’s landscape is the lagoon, gulf, slopes, plains, protruding rocks and rivers flowing into Lake Victoria. The amount of rainfall and climate varies depending on the geographical location of the area and the gravity of the lake. The average annual rainfall is between 700 and 1200 mm for rainfall indicating two seasons.
Related Posts:

For parliamentary elections, Tanzania is divided into constituencies. Since 1995 elections Rorya District had one constituency: Rorya Constituency.
There are four divisions
Luo Imbo
There are 21 wards (with total population – 2012):
Kigunga – 13,824
Kirogo – 7,250
Nyamtinga – 11,203
Nyamagaro – 17,006
Nyahongo – 18,454
Mkoma – 17,132
Tai – 12,506
Bukura – 15,228
Roche – 8,728
Kitembe – 9,845
Mirare – 12,416
Goribe – 9,915
Ikoma – 10,397
Koryo – 7,652
Bukwe – 9,920
Nyathorogo – 14,809
Rabour – 11,259
Kisumwa – 12,447
Komuge – 13,651
Nyamunga – 13,161
Kyang’ombe – 18,438

Leave your thoughts