Contact Us:

Ministry of Water(Tanzania)

Ministry of Water
Water services began to be provided since the colonial era in the 1930s. Construction of village water projects began in the late 1950s and was provided in all nine states of the time. Plans for the provision of water services were prepared to meet the needs of the Colonial Government and the service was not provided with policy directives. In 1961 the Department of Water and Irrigation was under the Ministry of Agriculture, and its function was to provide rural water services for humans and livestock; water resource management and flood prevention; implement irrigation projects and conduct hydrological research and prepare long-term plans to develop water projects.
In 1963 our country was divided into 17 regions instead of the nine states that existed during Independence and water services began to be provided in those regions. In 1970, the Water Sector was granted the status of a Ministry. Its functions included the development of rural and urban water services. Water services continued to be provided through the Regional and District Water Departments under the leadership of Regional and District Water Engineers. 400 meters.
Immediately after Independence and for several years later (1961-1997) rural and urban water services were managed by the Offices of the Regional Water Engineers under the Ministry responsible for water. The pilot project to run urban water services started in 1994 using a special account under the Finance Act of 1961. The experiments were conducted in the cities of Arusha, Moshi and Tanga, and showed success. of Water and Sewerage and to date there are a total of 20 Authorities at the Regional Capital level and 109 Authorities at the District and Sub-Town level as well as 8 National projects (Makonde, Handeni Trunk Main (HTM), Wanging’ombe , Maswa, Mugango Kiabakari, Chalinze and Kahama-Shinyanga, Masasi-Nachingwea).
The city of Dar es Salaam has at various times had various forms of management; In 1980 the city of Dar es Salaam was receiving water services under the auspices of the Dar es Salaam Water Supply Cooperation Sole. working materials; money; and the deterioration of machinery and pipelines. In 1981 the Government established the National Urban Water Authority (NUWA) with the aim of providing services throughout the country. of Dar es Salaam as well as the City only. Regional Water Engineers continued to provide services to Regional and District Capitals.
In 1997 the NUWA Act was amended, and water services for the City of Dar es Salaam were placed under the Dar es Salaam Water and Sewerage Authority (DAWASA).
Under the DAWASA Act of 2001, DAWASA was given the responsibility to serve the City of Dar es Salaam as well as the towns of Kibaha and Bagamoyo with an area of ​​two kilometers on each side of the main pipeline from Ruvu Juu and Ruvu Chini. In order to improve water services in Dar es Salaam, the Government approved DAWASA to enter into a 10-year contract with City Water Services to run water and sewerage services in the City. DAWASA continued to be the owner of the infrastructure. The agreement was terminated in 2005 after City Water Services Company failed to provide services at the expected rates. The government created the Dar es Salaam Water Corporation (DAWASCO) under the Public Enterprises Act of 1992, which came into effect in June, 2005 to this day.
The Water Policy of 1991 aimed to ensure that by the year 2000 all citizens have access to clean and safe water to meet their needs. Despite the successes, the policy had the following shortcomings: non-participation of the Private Sector and citizens in planning, implementing and managing rural water projects; emphasis on water supply rather than the management, development and management of water resources; and lack of specific policy implementation strategies.
Water Policy 2002: In response to the challenges posed during the implementation of the 1991 Water Policy, the Government prepared another policy in 2002 that addressed the shortcomings in the original policy.
In 2006, the National Water Sector Development Strategy was developed and aims to identify the roles of stakeholders, including district councils; setting institutional structures; making changes to the law; and classify investment rates.
The law
The Water and Sanitation Services Act of 2009 places emphasis on community involvement in the provision of water and sanitation services; and citizens to be given the opportunity to create water user vessels and register them with the Registrar who is the Director of the relevant council.
Important Events
(i) Use of bamboo trees in supplying water services. The technology was found to be weak with the need for many chemicals to preserve bamboo, as well as wires for preventing cracking;
(ii) Annual Water Experts Conference was established in 1980;
(iii) Villages to form water committees in accordance with the Water Policy of 2002
read more about the ministry

Leave your thoughts